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RULE PROPOSALS

INTERESTED PERSONS

Interested persons may submit comments, information or arguments concerning any of the rule proposals in this issue until the date indicated in the
proposal. Submissions and any inquiries about submissions should be addressed to the agency officer specified for a particular proposal.

The required minimum period for comment concerning a proposal is 30 days. A proposing agency may extend the 30-day comment period to
accommodate public hearings or to elicit greater public response to a proposed new rule or amendment. Most notices of proposal include a 60-day
comment period, in order to qualify the notice for an exception to the rulemaking calendar requirements of N.J.S.A. 52:14B-3. An extended comment
deadline will be noted in the heading of a proposal or appear in subsequent notice in the Register.

At the close of the period for comments, the proposing agency may thereafter adopt a proposal, without change, or with changes not in violation of
the rulemaking procedures at N.J.A.C. 1:30-6.3. The adoption becomes effective upon publication in the Register of a notice of adoption, unless
otherwise indicated in the adoption notice. Promulgation in the New Jersey Register establishes a new or amended rule as an official part of the New

Jersey Administrative Code.

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW
(a)

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW

Civil Service Commission
Law Enforcement Officer and Firefighter Cases

Proposed Readoption: N.J.A.C. 1:4B

Authorized By: Laura Sanders, Acting Director, Office of
Administrative Law.

Authority: N.J.S.A. 40A:14-208 and 52:14F-5(e), (), and (g).

Calendar Reference: See Summary below for explanation of
exception to calendar requirement.
Proposal Number: PRN 2017-251.
Submit comments by December 15, 2017, to:
Thomas E. Harris Jr., Assistant Director
Office of Administrative Law
Quakerbridge Plaza, Bldg. 9
PO Box 049
Quakerbridge Road
Trenton, New Jersey 08625
E-mail: oal.comments@oal.nj.gov
The agency proposal follows:

Summary

P.L. 2009, c. 16, N.J.S.A. 40A:14-200 et seq., signed into law on
March 5, 2009, and effective on June 1, 2009, established a 180-day
time limit for the appeal process for terminations of certain law
enforcement officers and firefighters. The Office of Administrative Law
adopted special rules, which were effective on May 29, 2009,
establishing hearing procedures for the conduct of these cases, pursuant
to the requirements of N.J.S.A. 40A:14-208 (see 41 N.J.R. 2716(a)). At
that time, the rules were set to expire on July 1, 2010, the first day of the
13th month following their effective date, in accordance with P.L. 2009,
c. 16. The Office of Administrative Law (OAL) readopted the rules
without change, effective September 7, 2010, see 42 N.J.R. 985(a);
2321(a). As the OAL has filed this notice of readoption prior to
September 7, 2017, the current expiration date, that date is extended 180
days to March 6, 2018, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 52:14B-5.1.¢(2).

A summary of the sections proposed for readoption follows:

Pursuant to proposed N.J.A.C. 1:4B-1.1, these rules apply to hearings
arising under N.J.S.A. 40A:14-200 et seq., concerning the suspension of
certain law enforcement officers and firefighters. The rules do not apply
when the charge relates to a pending or potential criminal charge. The
rules should be read in conjunction with the rules of the Civil Service
Commission at N.J.A.C. 4A:2-2.13.
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Proposed N.J.A.C. 1:4B-2.1 defines “law enforcement agency,” “law
enforcement officer,” “firefighter,” and “public fire department.”

Under proposed N.J.A.C. 1:4B-3.1, appeals are filed simultaneously
with the Clerk of the Office of Administrative Law and the Civil Service
Commission and must use the law enforcement officer and firefighter
removal appeal form found incorporated in the chapter Appendix.
Appellants must provide a copy of the preliminary and final notice of
disciplinary action. Failure to provide required information may result in
the appeal’s dismissal.

The time for filing an appeal and the procedure when an appeal is not
simultaneously or timely filed are set out in proposed N.J.A.C. 1:4B-3.2.

Proposed N.J.A.C. 1:4B-10.1 requires the parties to commence
discovery no later than 30 days from receipt of the notice of filing.

Post hearing submissions are prohibited, except for settlements or if
expressly permitted by the judge for good cause, pursuant to proposed
N.J.A.C. 1:4B-14.1.

Proposed N.J.A.C. 1:4B-18.1 sets forth the process for extending the
period for issuing a final agency decision.

As the OAL has provided a 60-day comment period on this notice of
rules proposed for readoption, this notice is excepted from the
rulemaking calendar requirements pursuant to N.J.A.C. 1:30-3.3(a)5.

Social Impact

The rules proposed for readoption implement the requirements of
N.J.S.A. 40A:14-20 et seq., and set forth a procedure that would result in
the determination of removal appeals of law enforcement officers and
firefighters within 180 days. The parties will benefit from more rapid
resolution of the case and clarity regarding the termination issue which
will occur as a result of an expedited process for resolution of these
cases.

Economic Impact
Providing a process that will result in a more expeditious resolution
of these cases should save public expenditures for back pay when the
determination of an appointing authority is reversed and reduce the
amount of salary that must be returned to the appointing authority by the
employee if the appointing authority’s determination is affirmed.

Federal Standards Statement
A Federal standards analysis is not required because the contested
case hearing procedures are proposed in the implementation of the New
Jersey Administrative Procedure Act, N.J.S.A. 52:14B-1 et seq., and
52:14F-1 et seq., and are not subject to any Federal standards or
requirements.

Jobs Impact
The rules proposed for readoption will not generate or cause the loss
of any jobs.

Agriculture Industry Impact
The rules proposed for readoption will not impact on the agriculture
industry.

(CITE 49 N.J.R. 3385)
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Regulatory Flexibility Statement
The rules proposed for readoption do not impose any reporting,

recordkeeping, or compliance requirements on small businesses, as
defined under the Regulatory Flexibility Act, N.J.S.A. 52:14B-16 et seq.
Therefore, a regulatory flexibility analysis is not required. The rules
proposed for readoption govern major disciplinary procedures for certain
law enforcement officers and firefighters.

Housing Affordability Impact Analysis
The rules proposed for readoption will have no impact on the
affordability of housing in this State, nor will they have any impact on
the costs of housing. The rules set forth procedures for contested case
hearings.

Smart Growth Development Impact Analysis
The rules proposed for readoption will have no impact on the number
of housing units or the availability of affordable housing in the State,
and will have no effect on smart growth development in Planning Areas
1 or 2, or within designated centers, under the State Development and
Redevelopment Plan. The rules set forth procedures for contested case
hearings.

Full text of the rules proposed for readoption may be found in the
New Jersey Administrative Code at N.J.A.C. 1:4B.

BANKING
(a)

DEPARTMENT OF BANKING AND INSURANCE
DIVISION OF BANKING
Governmental Unit Deposit Protection

Proposed Readoption with Amendments: N.J.A.C.
3:34
Authorized By: Richard J. Badolato, Commissioner, Department of
Banking and Insurance.
Authority: N.J.S.A. 17:1-8, 8.1, and 15 and 17:9-41 et seq.
Calendar Reference: See Summary below for explanation of
exception to calendar requirement.
Proposal Number: PRN 2017-250.
Submit comments by December 15, 2017, to:
Denise Illes, Chief
Office of Regulatory Affairs
New Jersey Department of Banking and Insurance
20 West State Street
PO Box 325
Trenton, NJ 08625-0325
Fax: (609) 292-0896
E-mail: legsregs@dobi.nj.gov
The agency proposal follows:

Summary

In accordance with N.J.S.A. 52:14B-5.1, the rules at N.J.A.C. 3:34
were scheduled to expire on November 1, 2017. In accordance with
N.J.S.A. 52:14B-5.1.¢(2), the filing of this notice of proposal with the
Office of Administrative Law extended the expiration date by 180 days
to April 30, 2018.

The Department of Banking and Insurance (Department) is proposing
to readopt the rules at NJ.A.C. 3:34, which implement the
Governmental Unit Deposit Protection Act, N.J.S.A. 17:9-41 et seq.,
(“Act” or “GUDPA”), which establishes the collateral requirements for
depositories that accept deposits of New Jersey governmental unit funds.
The Department has reviewed the existing Governmental Unit Deposit
Protection rules and has determined them to be reasonable, necessary,
and proper for the purpose for which they were originally promulgated.
The rules are proposed for readoption with amendments.

N.J.A.C. 3:34-1.1 sets forth the purpose and scope of the chapter.

N.J.A.C. 3:34-1.2 sets forth necessary definitions. The terms defined
include: “Act” or “GUDPA”; “adequately capitalized”; “association”;

(CITE 49 N.J.R. 3386)
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“call report”; “capital funds”; “Commissioner”; “credit union”;
“critically undercapitalized”; “‘custodial depository’ or ‘custodian’”;
“Department”; “eligible collateral”; “governmental unit”; “public
depository”;  “pubic  funds”;  “significantly = undercapitalized”;
“uninsured”; “valuation date”; and “well capitalized.”

N.J.A.C. 3:34-1.3 sets forth the general requirements, to comply with
the Act and this chapter.

N.J.A.C. 3:34-1.4 requires that each public depository electronically
file a quarterly report with the Department. The report is due the same
day as the call reports, which all depositories are required to file with
Federal regulators. The existing rule sets forth the information to be
included in the report and along with the report. On November 16, 2016,
the Department issued Bulletin No. 16-07 as a reminder to financial
institutions of their obligations under the Act, and to advise those
institutions of a certification required for the quarterly GUDPA filing
mandated by N.J.A.C. 3:34-1.4. The Department is proposing to amend
the section to add a new subsection (c) to codify the requirement that a
public depository must also file a certification attesting to the accuracy
and completeness of the filed report, and that said certification be signed
by a member of the public depository’s audit committee, its Chief
Financial Officer, or an equivalent officer. The certification must be
filed with the Department upon the filing of a call report.

Pursuant to the Act, at N.J.S.A. 17:9-43i, non-exempt public
depositories are required to pay an annual fee to be prescribed by the
Commissioner and to be dedicated to the operations of the Department
in connection with the administration and enforcement of the Act.
N.J.A.C. 3:34-1.5 sets forth the fees required of such public depositories.
If a public depository pays assessments pursuant to N.J.A.C. 3:5, the
dedicated funding rules, it is exempt from paying the annual fee.

N.J.A.C. 3:34-1.6 establishes collateral obligations for public
depositories holding uninsured public funds. These collateral obligations
are security for the public deposits. The amount of required collateral is
determined by the amount of uninsured public deposits, New Jersey
capital as set out in N.J.A.C. 3:34-1.6(b), and capital category as listed in
N.J.A.C. 3:34-1.6(a).

N.J.A.C. 3:34-1.7 sets forth the type of eligible collateral that is
permitted.

NJ.A.C. 3:34-1.8 sets forth the web address that can be used to
determine if a depository is an approved public depository. It is proposed
to be amended to update that address.

N.J.A.C. 3:34-1.9 provides the scope of the following terms in the
subchapter: “surplus,” “undivided profits,” “reserves,” and “capital

”

deposits.”

NJ.A.C. 3:34-1.10 provides requirements related to public
depositories, substitution of collateral.

N.J.A.C. 3:34-1.11 provides requirements related to public

depositories and custodial depositories concerning collateral. It also
specifies actions that the Commissioner may take in the event that a
public depository fails to meet its minimum regulatory capital
requirements or reasons grounded in other safety and soundness
concerns arise with respect to a public depository.

NJ.A.C. 3:34-1.12 provides the requirement that each public
depository shall have a written agreement with a custodial depository,
that must indicate that the collateral pledged is to be held subject to the
order of the Commissioner and is held as security for public funds as
required under the Act.

N.J.A.C. 3:34-1.13 addresses the securing of public deposits that are
otherwise required to be secured by law.

N.J.A.C. 3:34-1.14 provides for records to be maintained by the
Commissioner and the posting on the Department’s website of a listing
of public depositories eligible to act as a depository for public funds.

N.J.A.C. 3:34-1.15 sets forth the application process, including
required information to be provided, for depositories to seek approval
from the Commissioner to act as a public depository and accept public
funds.

N.J.A.C. 3:34-1.16 sets forth reporting requirements of certain credit
unions that qualify as a public depository related to financial education
programs.
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